Love is for everyone

My 5 Secrets To Finding ‘The’ One

#1 Don’t look for it.

Yara Zeitoun
6 min readFeb 13, 2021

--

Yep. Love in the time of Corona! (Photo by June Heredia on Unsplash)

For the past 10 years, I’ve had many ups and downs with diverse relationships but always felt like ‘finding the one’ was not in my cards. It was just not going to happen.

Getting married was just not something I felt I needed nor wanted. And if I’m honest, I was kind of scared of commitment and didn’t think I could find someone that I’d love enough to want to say ‘yes’ to.

Somehow, I went from saying I’d never get married to finding myself engaged and almost married in the span of a year. About 10 of my friends got engaged or married within the same year too (imagine the holiday planning stress)!

What was it that got me to actually say yes?
What is it that all my friends did to get past the honeymoon phase? Or even find someone, to begin with?

From my humble observations and experience, here’s what I say to friends that ask me:

#1 — Don’t look for it

Trust me when I tell you, I was really not looking for love.

I showed up super late to the engagement party the night I’d meet my current partner, didn’t drink, and didn’t even think of meeting someone. I was more excited about…

--

--

Yara Zeitoun

Language lover and compassionate wanna-being ❤ Arabjin in Europe